Projects



The Burradon War Memorial(“The War Memorial”) was built in 1921 with subscriptions from local residents to commemorate the village men who lost their lives in the Great War of 1914-18

Find out more

Prior to the discovery of coal and the opening of the colliery in 1819, Burradon had been a farming hamlet.

Find out more

In 1895, the miners of Burradon Colliery commissioned local artist Charles Dawson to create a memorial to the memory of the men and boys killed in the disaster at Burradon Colliery of 2nd March 1860.

Find out more

Fryers Terrace was an area of derelict land located in the center of the village, adjoining and opposite the land was abandoned retail properties which in previous generations were contributors to a vibrant and prosperous commercial sector in the village

Find out more

The Banner, which by now was in a very fragile condition was carefully packed and transported to Haughton Studio at Humshaugh Near Hexham, and left in the care of Jim Devenport and his team who would begin the restoration.

Find out more